Our tranquil, picturesque and challenging course was laid out on its current site as a nine hole course in 1926. Following its foundation in 1906 the Club occupied three sites on the outskirts of Market Drayton. In these early days the Club had some seventy playing members with men paying a two guinea subscription and the ladies one guinea.
From those earliest beginnings the Club has sought to encourage active and enthusiastic participation by both men and women, juniors and seniors. Indeed, our current membership ranges from 7 years of age to 91 – testimony to the health giving properties of the course and the friendship of its members.
In 1988, with the purchase and development of newly acquired land, members enjoyed an 18 hole course for the first time. The naturally draining terrain has matured into a parkland and heathland course, supporting a rich variety of wildlife. Fairways run around and through Brownhill Wood and the historic Salisbury Hill – scene of the gathering of the Earl of Salisbury’s troops before the Battle of Blore Heath in 1459.
With the development of the course came the need for a modern clubhouse. This attractive facility was opened in 1993, and adds greatly to the enjoyment of playing a course that has the capacity to provide every golfer with a true challenge of their ability.
Among its professionals, the most famous is Bert Gadd, appointed in 1927 and winner of the French Open in 1933 and the Irish Open at Royal Portrush in 1937. Some of his clubs have been restored and are now displayed along with other important artefacts in the clubhouse.
As with all clubs, our golfing heritage is held in high esteem and is reflected in the trophies and awards that members compete for each year. We take pride in recalling members who gave much of their time to ensure that Market Drayton Golf Club has a such a vibrant history and secure future.
Extracts from ‘A Hidden Gem’ the History of Market Drayton Golf Club 1906 – 2006
By G H ‘Bob’ Bayliss - Honorary Member MDGC